#loveliftedme

This weekend a lovely scrap booking friend introduced me to her scrapgals group on Facebook just in time for (inter) national scrapbooking day 2017. The group were running 8 challenges throughout the day. I’ve never scrap booked, and really did have no idea where to start. However, the first challenge issued fell within a sort if familiar comfort zone - to use watercolours. That was the only ‘rule’ to the challenge. And straight away I knew what to do.

I grabbed some a5 cartridge paper, which I strip painted and to each strip of colour added water droplets, flicks of paint, cling film or salt. Leaving this to dry, I turned to Matthew 14, which tells the story of Peter, who tried to walk across water to reach Jesus, but his faith waivered and he began to sink. Jesus lifts him to safety, and asks, ‘Why did you doubt me?’

IMG_0704.JPG

Before turning to this passage of scripture, I had a song swirling round my brain, one that I played many times as a child at an Old People’s home called The Court. Once a month from the time I was born my family had visited once a month with members of our Church to hold a Sunday service. From the age of 12 I had taken over playing the piano for these little services, with every song always sung from the Billy Graham’s Crusade song book. I love this book. I have a copy, much loved and well used, and still play from it regularly when practising at home.

IMG_0706.JPG

There is one song that I think illustrates the Bible passage perfectly. I photocopied the page, and yellowed it with the watercolour paints to replicate the yellowed pages of my music book. Taking the watercolour I had made previously and alternating them with lyrics from the song, I created waves in my bible. Hopefully completing my 1st ever scrapbook challenge!

IMG_0707.JPG

The words of the song are unimaginably beautiful and poignant. I will upload them for you to read.

IMG_0705.JPG

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Grains of wheat & ears of corn.

When we lived in Kent I would regularly walk our dogs around a local farm, down a dusty track that wound its way around the edge of a field of golden wheat. Well, sandy beige wheat ?. When we learned we would be moving away I worried... Continue →